grahamjk 02/02/15
Last reply 3 years ago
TYSABRI any use??

My consultant and MS nurse want to put me on TYSABRI and I was wondering if anyone has been on it and if it works. As I was only diagnosed with RRMS last april and having had two relapses they don’t want to put me on the entry level meds so I was wondering if its any good.
thanks all

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
3 years ago

@grahamjk , I’ve not had it personally, but we have a few members that have been, or are on it.

You can search for previous discussions by using the forum search function (magnifying glass, top left). The search would give the following results:- https://shift.ms/?s=tysabri

grahamjk
3 years ago

thanks @stumbler I will have a look

us-emma
3 years ago

Tysabri is a good drug. I was on it for approximately 6-7 years. I would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

I am a nurse in the states.

I think Tysabri is probably the second most effective drug available for MS. There is one that is stronger which was approved in the UK in 2014 called Lemtrada. I took that one last year and my MS is improving.

Both drugs have risks. I can point you to some research & comparison of the 2 if you are interested. Your friend has found sound medical advice 🙂

Take care

grahamjk
3 years ago

Thanks @us-emma I’m just really concerned about the side effect as this is the first time I’ve ever had to take medication in my whole life (I guess I’ve been lucky till now). But what you said has started to reassure me a little so thanks again. XX

tracyd
3 years ago

Emma would you post the comparisons please 🙂

I had my consultation with my neurologist yesterday and Tysabri as come into the discussion – but not for the reasons’s you’d think though 🙁

Anonymous
3 years ago