Last reply 5 months ago
Tips for reading?!

Hi everyone,

Not posted on here for a while, but looking for any bits of advice or tips that any of you may have…

I’ve always loved reading and used to get totally hooked into a book to the point that I would read it solidly for days! But now and in the last couple of years, I just can’t seem to focus long enough to get past the first chapter of any books! I don’t have any issues with understanding the words or seeing them or anything like that… I just find that no matter how much I try I can’t seem to absorb the text very well and end up re-reading the same paragraph over and over to make it stick! Either that or I just fall asleep after a few pages!

I’m studying a Masters degree at the minute and don’t have any trouble reading my course material, as it is mostly just short articles etc, rather than huge textbooks.

Not sure if it’s an MS thing or perhaps just stress related lack of concentration…
Anyone else experience similar and have any handy tricks to get around it?!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

rachaellouise
5 months ago

@srh90

It’s probably not ms related if you are able to focus on your uni work. If it was you’d probably be struggling with that too
I think it can be anxiety related to not be able to focus. I find that can come from not knowing or being able to relax because of stress and anxiety
What do you do to try and relax ?

cat
5 months ago

Hi @srh90