poppy12 01/01/18
Last reply 6 months ago
TENS machine?

Hi MSers and a Happy New Year!

I’ve got a question re back pain: I’ve been plagued by upper back pain for the last 18 months and the last 10 days were one of the bad spells again.

I can’t take Ibuprofen for more than 2 days in a row as my stomach doesn’t take to it kindly and back rubs only go so far. Swimming pool is still closed for the holidays but usually doesn’t really help that much either.

Hence, I am thinking of getting a TENS machine – has anyone tried this and what are your experiences with it?

Many thanks from poppy.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ā€˜xā€™.

stumbler
6 months ago

@poppy12 , I’ve no experience of TENS machines, but would like to suggest some Pilates exercises that concentrate on these areas.

Youtube have a wide selection of videos that demonstrate these gentle exercises – a bit cheaper than a TENS machine which may not work for you….

Some yoga stretches are another possibility.

poppy12
6 months ago

Thanks a lot, @stumbler. That’s a good idea. I have upper back exercises from the physio, too, but I’m never sure if they are helping or if when the pain goes for a bit, it’s just b/c that’s what it tends to do anyway.

But you are right, an active approach is better than hooking up to a machine to ‘solve my problems’.

Anyone else in the community have some experiences with the machines, though? Just so I have info in case I need a backup remedy?

poppy šŸ™‚

Anonymous
6 months ago

I tried tens machines a couple of times for back pain, but didn’t work for me. This turned out to be because my pain was neuropathic caused by damaged nerves.
I think tens machines would only be effective if your pain is muscular.
Hard to offer any more advice without knowing where your pain stems from…

@stumbler is right though always best to try some exercise of gentle stretching 1stšŸ˜

tog2-0
6 months ago