emmacartwright 25/02/18
Last reply 1 month ago
Supporting someone with MS

Hi All,

I’m new to this so please bear with me if I’m asking any stupid questions! I joined this group in the hope that I could get a better understanding of MS and what to expect. I don’t have MS however my boyfriend has been diagnosed in the last couple of months so I’m just coming to terms how we will both cope with this.

To give you a bit of a background, we haven’t been together long, in fact we were only dating for a couple of months before he got his diagnosis. We have however since made our relationship “official”!! He has RRMS and understandably is concerned about his future. I’m looking to see if there is anyone on here who is in a similar situation or looking to speak to someone with MS who can give me a better understanding of what to expect? I’ve spoken to a few of my friends about it who have advised me to get out of the relationship while I’m still fairly young but I just can’t. I love him so much and although I know that MS puts a certain amount of uncertainty into our future I know that he’s the person I want to be with.

I’ve been doing as much research as I can online but it’s a mind field out there with so much emphasis put on the unpredictable nature of the disease.

Does anyone have any advice on how best I can support him? I think he’s worried that because of his diagnosis that I won’t want to be with him anymore.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
2 months ago

Hi @emmacartwright and welcome.

By the way, there’s no such thing as a silly question, but you may get the occasional silly answer! 😉

Anyway, it’s good of you to join us on behalf of your boyfriend. He’s lucky to have you.