jojo75 12/12/17
Last reply 6 months ago
???Optic neuritis

Hi
Looking for some ideas please. On Sunday my left eye was very irritating and t vision in that eye blurry. Been very painful and watery. Saw my gp hoping it was conjunctivitis. That’s ruled out and referred to eye clinic at hospital. My gp was quite certain that you only get this eye problem before diagnosis. Been diagnosed for just under 6 years. Very confused! Any could any advice ta Jo.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

cherish
7 months ago

@jojo75

Good afternoon to you.

I’m no medical expert but my first bout of optic neuritis was what lead to my diagnosis, but I have had it numerous times since diagnosis.
And I’m sure there are plenty of us that have had it more than once.

I hope you haven’t to wait long to see the eye doctor as you would maybe be happier with the steroids to help that along (if it is ON)

Ps… I was always under the impression that GPS can see if the nerve looks inflamed.
I’m possibly wrong, maybe I just have a gp that has super powers!! 😂

Hope you get an answer soon.

Lisa xx

jojo75
7 months ago

Hi thank you @cherish. I did read that you could get it just wanted someone else to confirm it. Who knows when my appt will come through. Thanks for your reply. Made me feel like I’m not mad! Jo

hmcampos
7 months ago

Hi @jojo75.

My ON lead to diagnosis as well and having one does not mean you’re safe for life.

I had the “diagnosis relapse” and less than 2 months after that had another ON. First time no steroids, second time did take solumedrol IV spaced 3 days.

Take care and best of luck.
H

jojo75
7 months ago

Hi @hmcampus
Thanks for your post. I just need to one way or the other. Very frustrating. Not GPS fault but be nice to know.
Jo

sciencegeek
7 months ago