samantha_louise 14/02/18
Last reply 2 months ago
New to lemtrada

Hi all

I have read a lot of posts on here regarding lemtrada. I am going for my initial appointment in a couple of weeks, and am feeling very excited to start. At first, I chose not to opt for lemtrada. But then felt I was waiting for a relapse to happen for my treatment to be esculated anyway! But I am now feeling much more positive about starting treatment.

I am a primary school teacher and I was just wondering how long people would recommend taking off. I don’t want to risk going back and having low immunity, however likewise, I don’t want to be off work for long either! I just know the children will be a breeding ground for germs!!

Thanks Sam

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
2 months ago

@samantha_louise , you want to read @tracyd ‘s blog about her Lemtrada journey :-

http://tracyslemtradajourney.blogspot.co.uk/

bumhug
2 months ago

I had lemtrada in December. I’ve been off work for a while, not because of lemtrada though. Mainly other ms symptoms have caused the absence from work. I will be honest though lemtrada is hard, mentally, emotionally and physically. But as long as things haven’t been too bad for you up until now you should really have any problems. Germ wise you will be given drugs by the hospital doing the treatment for bacteria and viruses, just keep up with general hygiene like hand washing and you should be fine. Use the hand gels a lot and wash your hand a lot and there shouldn’t be a problem.

tracyd
2 months ago

Hi @samantha_louise

In regard to the germy little plague monsters at school, one of the things that seems to have worked well is a reward system – gallons of anti bac all round the room and if one of the little darlings needs to ‘interact’ they clean themselves first and get bonus rewards for reminding you to ‘clean them off yourself’ after 🙂

hassy11
2 months ago