gandtgirl 28/11/17
Last reply 2 months ago
New to all this!

Hi, I’m new to all this, not just the MS but posting anything on line like this. I was diagnosed earlier this year -quite quickly (less than 6 months) after my first visit to the GP with a list of symptoms.

Turns out that ‘flappy leg’ wasn’t connected to my sciatica after all! Now I’m just waiting for a classification but, being 56, it is most likely primary progressive.

Not sure what happens next, just have the feeling that things will develop steadily but hopefully slowly. Have a great nurse who answers emails really quickly and keeps me feeling positive. In fact, I’m seeing her tomorrow – more Gabapentin in the pipeline I expect

Has anyone got any suggestions for how to deal with hand pain especially when it feels as though the skin will burst? When it’s really bad holding a glass of something cold seems to do the trick but unfortunately it can’t always be G and T!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
4 months ago

Hi @gandtgirl and welcome.

The first thing is that we don’t bite on this forum.

Unfortunately, no-one knows what will happen next. We’re all different, so one person’s experience will be very different to the next. But, seeking the advice of other MSers is a good starting point for you.

Just generally, we recommend and healthy diet, with a healthy lifestyle, whilst avoiding any form of stress.

As to your hand situation, discuss this with your MS Nurse. Yes, there may be a need to up the Gabapentin. We don’t want you spilling your G and T, do we? 😉

cameron
4 months ago

I was diagnosed when I was 53 and it wasn’t primary progressive – it’s only a very small proportion of newly-diagnosed MSers who are, so don’t jump to conclusions. Lots of luck with the treatments/contacts with your nurse. And hopefully get Xmas supplies of Gordon’s while the offers are on… x

us-emma
4 months ago