shadowfox 14/06/18
Last reply 2 days ago
New and in Undiagnosed Limbo

Hi, I’m ShadowFox and I’m new to Shift.ms so I thought I’d introduce myself. I live in Northern Ireland and I’ve been investigating my health problems since 2015. I’m currently undiagnosed.

Long story short, I had a bad concussion 3 years ago which left me with fatigue, headaches, brain fog and a few other symptoms. As time has gone on, the fatigue has stayed (and could even say it has gotten worse) though the other symptoms are mostly gone. But as my GP thought I had post-concussion syndrome, eventually I was sent for a head MRI and cognitive and OT assessment in 2017. My assessments were all fine, though my MRI came back with 3 lesions, so I was referred to a neurologist. Neuro believed that I was asymptomatic so diagnosed Radiologically Isolated Syndrome and scheduled another MRI for August 2018 (a year after the first one.)

A few weeks after that neuro meeting (which was in February ’18), I had my first episode of pins and needles in my hands and feet, with a weird burning sensation on my arm. In the next few months I also had some bladder issues and a couple of bouts of unexplained vertigo. I reported these to my GP in case they were significant, and I was called back to my neurologist and sent for an urgent MRI, this time for head and spine.

I am now awaiting those MRI results and I’m scheduled to meet my neuro next Tues (19th June) to discuss. While initially I doubted that MS would be the cause for my fatigue, the other symptoms have made me reconsider the possibility. At this point I don’t really know what to expect and I guess it has been leaving me pretty stressed, though I don’t like to admit it. In the past week I have started getting blurry grey patches in my vision too which is really unsettling, annd I don’t know yet if all these things are related or not.