kasankey 26/04/18
Last reply 4 weeks ago
Memory loss

I’ve been diagnosed with MS for 2 years now, but lately I’ve noticed that it’s hard for me to remember things, such as short term(5 min ago) or events that happened in the past. It’s kinda of a scary feeling, how do you guys cope with the memory loss? Or what do you guys do to help yourself remember things

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

Anonymous
4 weeks ago

Hey kasankey, I trust you are well. I have been increasingly aware of the same problem, names are my worst. I was diagnosed in 2003, so fifteen years odd. I can forget someone new’s name in minutes! But i graduated with a 2.1 in law in 2009 and will be picking up wit my Masters in politics at the end of the year, so study and short term memory are affected differently for me. I do need to help myself with daily tasks though, I email and text myself or write lists, whichever works. I find I can get way with: hello mate, brother, sister, pal etc. And ask people how they would like to be known on my phone when I take their number. Like many things with MS, it’s a bugger, but don’t let it beat you. Ask your neurologist when you get the chance for suggestions. You can live life with the memory problems you describe and don’t kick yourself about it, you will still wake up breathing tomorrow! xxx

stumbler
4 weeks ago

@kasankey , here’s some detail about this particular symptom :-

https://www.mstrust.org.uk/a-z/cognition-and-cognitive-symptoms

aliga
4 weeks ago