emaweston 13/05/15
Last reply 3 years ago
In need of reassurance…

Hey – this is going to be quite a long post but, like I’ve said, I’m in need of some reassurance.
After being absolutely symptom free for five years after my diagnosis, in 2013 I had what my MS nurse has called a ‘devastating relapse’. I basically experienced every possible MS symptom all in one go – brain stem swelling.
I lost the use of my legs, my right hand and most of my left too, had double vision, constant sound in my ears (like standing next to a motorway), difficulty swallowing, my voice went all weird and I couldn’t speak properly – basically it was terrible. Thank god for my husband and my family.
Fast forward to this January and after a long and slow recovery, just my walking slower than I’d like, I wisely (!) thought that if I started a new job, working full time – I’m a teacher – everything would fine and I could forget about MS. In addition to this, prior to the awful relapse I’d been working part time, and after the relapse the school that I worked at (14-19 age group) had been brilliant and I was only teaching a reduced timetable over 2.5 days. My current school is 11-16 and I’m doing a very slightly reduced timetable, full time.
I’m exhausted (fatigue is hitting me big time) and I’m struggling to cope, while also being terrified about bringing on another ‘devastating relapse’.
I’m handing in my notice so only have one half-term (and a bit) to go but I’m feeling a bit of a failure and also like I’m copping out and/or making it all up.
So. After all that, any reassuring words? x

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

northernlass
3 years ago