Last reply 8 months ago
Help!!

I’m not sure if I have Ms.
But I have got optic neutritis I saw a doc today n he said b(bluntly it relates to ms you may scare yourself if you Google it) he also mentioned that I had a cold n it could be the cause but I did have the same thing 4 years ago.
I’m new to all this I’m petrified i don’t know what to expect I have 3 beautiful children and this thought is just killing me I feel heartbroken and so alone…. i know i don’t know for sure but I’m scared xx

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the โ€˜xโ€™.

stumbler
8 months ago

Hi @vincentnancy88 and welcome.

I can really understand you feeling petrified. You’ve just had a Doctor give you a very unprofessional feeling that he may know what’s causing it, and if you check it on Google, it’s going to scare you. Well, that last bit was right!

You’d probably heard the term MS, but only ever had mental images to go with the term. Yes, there is a feeling of being alone, as the only people that talk about MS are those people with MS. The rest of the population is blissfully unaware of what it does and doesn’t mean.

We don’t recommend Dr. Google either. You can find a lot of misinformation and, given your circumstances, you just need the true facts so you can understand a bit about the condition. At least you found us…………

Anyway, MS is now a manageable condition. It’s not life-threatening and doesn’t mean an express one-way ticket to a wheelchair. So, sit down, take some deep breaths and calm yourself down.

Now, I assume that you’ve already had an MRI scan? And, was it just your GP that broke this possibility to you? It’s only a Neurologist that can make this diagnosis, so I hope you have been given a referral.