f3ng5hu1 04/06/12
Last reply 6 years ago
Gp meds advice

Is there any basic medication I can get from my GP now I know I have ms and if so whats the recommendations please?

I was diagnosed in January with RR ms and I am currently awaiting my second mri and neuro appointment, it’s about 4 months away.

I know I can ask my Doctor about this but would rather hear it from people who actually have it and perhaps take some because some meds may be better than others.

So any recommendations on local GP meds appreciated, thank you.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

jessie
6 years ago

im no expert, but in terms of DMDs i think neurologists have to prescribe first before a GP can fill prescriptions. did ur neuro not offer any drug choices???

cameron
6 years ago

You need a neurologist’s prescription for the disease-modifying drugs which will be your main weapon against MS. However, if you’re in the middle of a relapse, the GP can prescribe steroids. If you’re not, it depends on what symptoms you currently have. Musculoskeletal problems which may have arisen if you have abnormal gait = anti-inflammatories (NSAIDs); bladder issues such as urgency = anti-cholergenic drugsm such as Ditropan. Some GPs will prescribe Baclofen for muscle spasm (although where I live that has to come through the neurologist); nerve pain = Amitriptyline (this is also an antidepressant,so by going on it you can kill two birds with one stone!). When I was first diagnosed I had terrible leg cramps at night and my GP gave me quinine. If nothing much is going on, I would imagine your GP will just tell you to wait and see the neuro. Hope this helps.

DJDsouza
6 years ago

You should be able to get Vitamin D levels checked at your GP and then they can prescribe higher strength tablets or something to help up your Vit D levels

f3ng5hu1
6 years ago