Last reply 1 month ago
Foot Drop

Hello All

This is my first time on SHIFT MS but my MS nurse told me about the site.

I was diagnosed in 1998, and have weak muscles, fatigue and numb hands and a numb leg.

On the whole I feel I’ve been able to just get on with my life inspite of MS but in the last few months my left leg has been more heavy and dragging. I’m really beginning to hobble now but the worst thing about it is that my good right foot is becoming very sore, especially on the sole, due to the effects of most of my body weight falling on it.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? I am developing thick hard skin on the sole of
my good foot now and it all feels very uncomfortable.

I’d really appreciate any comments from anyone as I am not in contact with anyone
else who has MS.

Thank you.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
1 month ago

Hi @friendlysheep and welcome.

Do you have an MS Nurse? If so, contact them and tell them of the problem and ask for a Neuro-physio assessment.

You need to know what is and isn’t working. The physio will prescribe simple exercises to address any problems.

robbyk
1 month ago

Hi, I have a splint (which you can’t see) which lifts my foot up ever so slightly, so that I don’t drag it. Neuro physio gave it to me, so you you need to see one,

friendlysheep
1 month ago

thank you for these very helpful comments stumbler and robbyk.

I will go back to the MS nurse,

imbarca
1 month ago

@friendlysheep Footdrop is a pain (quite literally, sometimes!) Definitely ask about FES (functional electrical stimulation). I have a WalkAide

http://www.walkaide.com/Pages/default.aspx