Last reply 3 years ago
Bipolar and MS

Hi,

I’m new here so first I’ll hello to all! Short introduction: I’m a PhD student in Chicago, beginning to accept the fact that I won’t be able to finish my diss on time. There are few reason, MS being only one of them.

My question is obvious from the title:
Does anyone here have Bipolar in addition to the Lovely MS? I made some research and it’s not uncommon for them to come together; no matter which might cause/influence which.

If you don’t mind I’ll use this place to complain and vent a little. It’s difficult enough for people to understand MS, especially one that’s not very physical; talk about Bipolar….

I’d love to hear from others, having to deal with the same situation. What do you do?

PS. Sorry for a long post, and please forgive my English (I’m Polish)

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the β€˜x’.

naim
3 years ago

my understsnding is that with bipolar you to have a manic episode to be diagnoised.

MS seems to be more of a shutdown.

but with MS you do get the ups and downs but i dont think or i hope they dont evolve into anything manic lol!
but i think if it did it will render you to have a relapse because your body and senses will shut down.
but thats just what i think – thinking out loud lol!

stumbler
3 years ago

A symptom of MS is “Emotional lability”. I should imagine that this could be confused as Bi-polar…….

kasica
3 years ago

I think I wasn’t clear: I do have diagnosed bipolar. I had it for a couple of years now. It just got worse recently and it’s very tiresome. Yes, some of MS symptoms might, or rather look like bipolar and that’s exactly what makes it so bad. I can almost never say, what’s what. Add to it various meds, how they interact, etc. and you can see why I’m whining…