Last reply 2 weeks ago
Anger and MS

Hi,
My name is Rita. This is my first time here.
I need help with my anger issues, caused by MS (I think it). Does anyone have this problem as well? If yes, what type of medication could help?
I took antidepressant for four years, it helped a little bit but also caused a lot of side effects.
I heart about a mood stabilizer called Depakote, does anyone know or take this medication for anger issues caused by MS?

Please help me, I will see my doctor soon, but I would like to know it is just me or it is a common problem (anger in MS).
Thank you, Rita

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

There are no categories assigned yet.

stumbler
3 weeks ago

Hi @rita_de_cassia and welcome.

Mood issues are quite common with MS. In the months following diagnosis, the “Why me?” anger can be quite prevalent. But, generally, there is an MS symptom of the PseudoBulbar Affect (PBA), aka Emotional Lability, which can involve mood extremes.

There’s some more details of this symptom here :-

https://www.mstrust.org.uk/a-z/pseudobulbar-affect-pathological-laughing-and-crying

Depakote is a prescription medication which is used for Bi-polar disorder. Any thoughts of medication for this issue should be discussed with your medical team.

vixen
3 weeks ago

Hello @rita_de_cassia, big welcome. Not so much anger, but my level of tolerance has really dropped since being diagnosed last year. This is not great, given that I work in a school! I have to reign myself in to keep it under control. My emotions are more extreme too. Funny things make me cry with laughter, and I cry easier when sad. I’m not sure if it’s the MS causing it as such, but certainly my emotional regulation system has become warped since going through all the stages you go through n being diagnosed. So yes, I’d say it’s quite a common problem with us special folk…….hope that helps:-)

grandma
3 weeks ago