f10na 15/01/17
Last reply 1 year ago
After 10 years of maybes it's finally of

Hi!
I am a total newbie and this is my first post.
I started having episodes of unwellness -extreme fatigue, numbness in my legs and arms etc when I was 16 And was diagnosed with Chronic fatigue (ME). The diagnosis always felt like a cop out because they didn’t really know what was wrong. I was diagnosed with MS in 2006 after a bad relapse while studying abroad, and a positive reaction to steroid treatment but when I came back to the UK they “could not confirm the diagnosis!” 10 years on, netous relapses, a husband and 2 kids later I am now 32 and finally have a confirmed MS diagnosis. I am going to the MS clinic for the first time on 8th Feb. What do I need to know or ask about? What is the best DMT to start with? Any advice would be awesome ?

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
1 year ago

Hi @f10na and welcome.

A journey to a diagnosis of MS can take some strange turns over a number of years, but eventually, it makes sense of all the symptoms you have experienced.

And, now you are starting your journey into the world of Disease Modifying Treatments (DMTs), where there are now a range of options, from oral, through injectables to infusions.

Have a look at the publications available here under “treatments”, so that you understand the different options. Then you can take an active role in conversations with your medical people, rather than be told what you’re having.

https://support.mstrust.org.uk/shop

A new philosophy is starting to appear in the medical community, to hit MS hard and fast with an appropriate DMT. Although others are still adopting a conservative approach. So, do build up your own argument for the treatment you want.

Anonymous
1 year ago

Hi Fiona
(saw what you did with the name – nice)