@Robean 

Last reply

Robean

2 months on Tecfidera - my experience!

Hi everyone, Hope you are all doing well in the lead up to Christmas! Thought I would do a little update post as I have been taking Tecfidera for almost 2 months now and when I was considering DMTs I found it useful to read other experiences! I can say now that my experience hasn’t been completely smooth but I think I am now coming out of the other side and I’ve got to say I think Tecfidera is great. I had some intense gastro side effects in week 3, severe diarrhoea lasting for about 5 days, I also felt generally unwell with terrible headaches and feeling feverish. I took the week off work (I work in a hospital so not allowed in with D+V symptoms anyway!) and I’m still not sure if it was a coincidental stomach bug but my MS nurse seems to think it was the Tecfidera so we’ll go with that m, I’m just glad it didn’t last any longer than a week! The following week, once I’d recovered, I went for my first monthly blood test. Unfortunately, the results showed raised liver enzymes and I was told I might have to stop taking Tecfidera but to get them rechecked in a week and see. I was honestly gutted as I chose Tecfidera for its effectiveness and convenience and (relatively) mild side effects compared to some of the others! Really didn’t want to have to stop so I was relieved when the following week my liver enzymes had gone down and after another 2 weeks they were completely back to normal so I have been allowed to continue! So all in all not a bad start! Since the diarrhoea in week 3 I’ve had no other real side effects. I’ve had a few episodes where I’ve felt extremely hot and itchy, looked in the mirror and had a bright red face and neck so I’m assuming this is the “flushing” symptom that people talked about but honestly it hasn’t happened often and when it has, it didn’t last long! I’m finding taking the tablets really easy to slot into my routine - 1 with breakfast or lunch (I sometimes skip breakfast