klouise 02/06/15
Last reply 2 years ago
Which DMD?

Hi

I’m new to this, but would really appreciate people’s advice on tecfidera/deciding on a DMD. I’ve been struggling with this decision for a few weeks now. I had one attack last October, which was disabling, but am now pretty much completely recovered, with no hangover symptoms. I have been trying to decide between the UK first-line drugs i.e. tecfidera vs injectables. To sum it up, my head tells me that tecfidera is the most effective and I should opt for that, and my neuro has subtly hinted (which is about as strong as they seem willing) that it is the most sensible choice, but I am very anxious about the PML link and evolving risk profile: the unknowns. I feel fine at the moment, and the part of me that’s scared just wants to take copaxone, even though I know it is less effective. Rightly or wrongly, I’m finding it very difficult to adjust myself psychologically to actually wanting to take tecfidera. Anyone else struggling with this? Any advice?

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

brokendancer
3 years ago

I went through all the for/against when I was diagnosed – then told PPMS so choice of what injection was redundant.
Two years on and all change, proven RRMS after all and aiming for Tecfidera too, it’s such a personal choice. I really don’t care if I flush like a beetroot if I feel a bit better in general, don’t have to go to the hospital regularly or inject myself (I’m a wuss!)
I think you might need to list what you’ve been offered and write plus/minus points to help you pick.
Good luck whatever you decide 🙂
Sonia x

stumbler
3 years ago

@klouise , as Sonia suggested above, a lot depends on how these DMDs fit into your lifestyle.