purple72 18/05/17
Last reply 8 months ago
What DMD would you start with?

So apparently this question is cheating (according to my MS nurse although I think he was joking!) but I’m new to this so hoping I’ll be forgiven!

I have the booklet of DMDs and I just don’t know which one to choose. I’m getting bogged down with possible side effects, especially as the only symptom which led to diagnosis has been tingling. I’m 25 and newly diagnosed.

I’m contemplating Plegridy or Copaxone – but wondering if it makes more sense to go with tecfidera given it supposedly is more effective.

How did you choose?

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

californiadreamin
9 months ago

If you follow doctors that I believe are the current top neurologists in the world like Gavin Giovannoni from Barts and Tim Vollmer from the Rocky Mountain MS center, the model has changed to treat more aggressively early. The reason for the current thinking of start with something like Copaxane and ramp is up based on older information when there were limited choices. There are now 16 approved dmt’s in the US and close to that in Europe. Tecfidera has side effects that are mostly GI related and stop when the medince is stopped or if you adapt to them. The worst side effects (liver, pml etc) all are carefully monitored these days and there are good opportunities to stop the medince if there looks like there will be a problem.

I can point you to videos/blogs from the dr’s above if that would help. Stopping the diease progression as much as possible while you are young is likely to be super important to your long term health. Knowing nothing other then what you posted, I would lean towards something like Tecfidera assuming your Dr is allowing that choice. (That is the choice my wife made after doing lots of research and we have been happy with that, even though the initial months were a little bumpy).

vixen