suziej 24/03/13
Last reply 5 years ago
Walking aid

Hi

I started Gilenya a couple of weeks ago and it’s very early days MS nurse reckons it can take 3 months to become fully effective.

I’m pretty sure I’m relapsing and have appt with neuro to discuss on Tuesday. Although I’ve really reacted t gilenya, sore eyes, sore neck, heavy legs, lw heart rate. All of which I’ve relayed to nurse. I have had a weakness on my left side for a while, it just seems particularly bad at the min, I’m noticeably limping and get tired really easily.

So, I thought I could do with a bit of support and ave started using a crutch to help support me. I just have a couple of concerns; is it ok to just start using a crutch without consulting anyone? And is it a slippery slope? I appreciate how small minded this may seem but I’m new to ms, 26 and diagnosed 18 months ago. Things seem to be going bad very quickly.

Help 🙂

Suzie x

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
5 years ago

@suziej, you must be like me – absent from school when they gave lessons on walking aids! 😆
However, whilst adopting a walking aid to address unsteadiness is a good idea, using a walking aid isn’t straightforward.
I had a weakness on my left side when I got my first stick. It was only when I saw a neuro-physio that I got told to use it in my right hand, i.e. opposite from the weakness, and had the length of it adjusted!
So, have a word with your MS Nurse to see if they can suggest someone to do a brief appraisal for you.

suziej
5 years ago

@stumbler Thank you. I was trying to work out how to use it for a while, googled it and found the opposite side works better. But I will definitely speak to her on Tuesday and see what she suggests. 🙂

cameron
5 years ago