joojoo 19/05/15
Last reply 3 years ago
Typing/touchscreen/work troubles

Afternoon all,

I have a shiny new diagnosis and am 4 months into a bout of optic neuritis. My vision is returning, but it changes every day, and Uhthoff’s likes to take charge when I do any exercise (I am/was a keen mountain biker, but now getting into running).

My noggin has a sprinkling of lesions, both old & new, which my Neuro cheerily declared as asymptomatic and subsequently discharged me. I have recently been put in contact with my MS nurse, too, who is brilliant.

I’m a scientist in full time employment – predominantly office-based – but I am starting to notice that everyday tasks, that never used to phase me, are now taking much longer for me to complete, and when I do, they are full of errors. It tends to be things that use a lot of concentration and are visually guided.Typing this out has taken me 5 times as long as it should; if I want to send a text message from my touchscreen phone, it turns out as gobbledegook, and this here forum has taken me a couple of weeks to work out! (This is my third attempt at trying to post this message this afternoon…durrr…). I have also completely lost the ability to park my car properly, so I tend to arrive at work before other people so they don’t see me spending half an hour trying to tentatively edge my way into a space!

My concern is that this is affecting my work. I am no longer working efficiently, or as quickly as I imagine my employer would expect/like. I don’t know whether to talk to my boss about it or not. (I also don’t know whether to mentiion it to my partner about – he is having to deal with MS infor overload at the moment).

My boss, and the HR department know about my diagnosis as I have had to have significant amounts of sick leave recently, but I’ve not told them about these issues. Should I?

It might all settle down, I suppose. But it might not.

Not sure what to do.

Any advice is appreciated,

Ta

Juliet

Add categories