sj27 24/01/15
Last reply 3 years ago
Tingling permanent?

Hello
I’m new to this and so far just been reading lots of useful posts.
I was diagnosed in June by a private neurologist. It started for me with tingling thighs when I walked which I stupidly ignored for too long. It was only when it moved to the top of my left foot that I went to my GP. I’m yet to see an NHS ms neurologist so no medication as yet.
Since diagnosis I have experienced some pain, aching, buzzing and a few periods of dizzyness – all on and off. Nothing that is too terrible although I find the dizzy spells hard. I think I had a relapse after diagnosis but not 100%. It tends to all happen when I’m tired or stress but sometimes there isn’t an explanation.
My question is really whether the pain, tingling, buzzing etc is now permanent damage that I will have to learn to live with rather than relapses?
Any advice welcomed. Thank you!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
3 years ago

@sj27 , our relapses cause lesions on our brains or down our spine.. These lesions can leave some scarring, which can interfere with messages going from our nerve endings to the brain, and back again.

If the brain can’t work out what the nerve endings are doing and feeling, it can’t send the right response. And sensory problems can occur.

This is called Dysaesthesia, or paraesthesia (http://www.mstrust.org.uk/atoz/dysaesthesia.jsp)

These sensations can get invoked when we are tired or stressed…..

us-emma
3 years ago

@sj27,

Short answer yes & no

That isn’t helpful but MS is so different from one person to another.

With that said most early symptoms will get better with treatment in the short term. If not treated aggressively & early the ‘damage will be done’ & in most cases be irreversible later in the disease.