Last reply 7 months ago
Student and MS

Hi everyone,

I am currently studying for a degree (In England) and have just been diagnosed with RRMS. I have received equipment from the Disabled students allowance (DSA), but I don’t know what support I am supposed to be entitled to at my university. The only information I can find online is about PIP, which I don’t think I am eligible for. I just want to know what ‘reasonable adjustments’ my uni should be providing me with. I feel like I am petitioning on my own.

Thanks everyone!
Louise

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
7 months ago

@studentandms , have a read through this post, which covers some of the issues that you are facing :-

https://shift.ms/forums/topic/is-university-is-too-much-to-handle

hassy11
7 months ago

Hi Louise,

I also got diagnosed during my 3rd year at University. Like you, they also gave me the equipment needed.
As far as the support goes trying to get PIP is an option, however you do need to qualify for it. They will asked you question such as can you make food from scratch or make your own cup of tea. so it will be tough to get unless you meet certain requirements.
As far as the adjustments go what do you require from your uni? have you spoken to the student union to see if they can help?

tootes
7 months ago

Speak to your student union or student support services. I don’t know your Uni policy, however they need to make reasonable allowance for your disability, and give you extra support and dispensation were appropriate. This can be as simple as extra time to take an exam…… Let your lectures and tutors know, if you haven’t already.