highlander 03/05/18
Last reply 3 weeks ago
SPMS

Hi all,
From what I’ve read there doesn’t appear to be treatment for SPMS other than symptom management, just wondering if I’ve misunderstood what I’ve read or you have a better way of explaining the options available.
Keep smiling!
Thanks.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

mmhhpp
3 weeks ago

@highlander

Hi i have spms. You are right not much for spms. I read about siponimod but in my opinion only works a little bit.

If you have new lesions on mri but not active you might be able to get cladribine injections. But again not sure if this will stop ms if there is any small inflammation, not picked up by mri but lumber puncture may do, might work , it may reduce brain shrinkage.,,..i am not a doctor but that is my interpretation.,,,

stumbler
3 weeks ago

@highlander , as @mmhhpp says, there isn’t anything really for the progressive variants of MS.

Ocrevus looks interesting, but that is just for early stage Primary Progressive MS (PPMS), as well as Relapsing/Remitting MS (RRMS)

samanthathompson
3 weeks ago

Hello,

I was recently told that I had moved to SPMS two years ago (not surprised but cross that I hadnt been informed sooner) and was started on Rebif. I was confused at the time because I thought that there was no treatment options. I cannot find anyone else who is secondary that is on a first line DMD.

The Siponimod drug looks promising but a long way off yet.

Sam

aabreu
3 weeks ago

Some claim that HSCT is effective. I don’t know what to think about it. There is a guy named George Goss on Facebook. He has a group and is a big proponent. He claims he was SPMS and helped greatly by HSCT. I’m RRMS and accepted in the trial at Northwestern. I have hope it takes me back in time where I was able to feel my fingertips.

stumbler
3 weeks ago

@samanthathompson , here’s a booklet about Secondary Progressive MS (SPMS) :-