Last reply 6 years ago
Panic attacks

Hi there. I am new to shift and I am glad I found it through the BBC article.

I am struggling with anxiety big time. When I got diagnosed 3 years ago I then also lost my job and my boyfriend left me. As I couldn’t walk and pay the rent, I left London and moved in with my parents again for 6 months.

I can walk again now :–) have found a new job (they don’t know about me having MS) and moved into my own little flat :–)

So I should be happy, but I keep getting bad panic attacks, that I might loose it all again.

It is affecting my work and my private life. Any suggestions how I could help myself?

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

ophelia
6 years ago

I’m sorry you’re suffering with these attacks, I know how terrifying they can be. I suffered with them just after diagnosis, mainly through the night. I have found that meditation and gentle breathing exercises have helped. I’m thinking about taking up yoga too as I’ve heard that can help. Obviously it’s a personal choice as to why you haven’t informed your work, but maybe to take an element of stress away, tell your boss or someone you trust, then at least if you do have a relapse they know what’s going on? Wish you all the best.xx

orionforstar
6 years ago

Be sure to tell your doctor about these problems with panic and anxiety. There are several medications out there that can help you out.

softscarlet
6 years ago

I am sorry you are feeling this way, but I do understand..

I have been signed off work… currently on my 4th week re I totally burnt myself out re work.. suffered terribly from insomnia.. which then progressed on to panic and anxiety.. (a good friend made me go to the GP)

The Gp was lovely.. after “listening” to me.. he signed me off for 4 weeks.. to reevaluate my lifestyle.. but the best thing that has helped is my CBT counsellor..