Last reply 6 years ago
No Symptoms?

Hi everyone, I’m new to all of this, so be nice! 🙂

I’ve only recently been diagnosed with MS (well the neurologist is 90% sure) and I’ve only had one relapse since my initial first episode. Since my recovery from the relapse, I don’t seem to have any day to day symptoms at all.

Was just wondering if that’s how it usually plays out at the start of the MS journey? Is it normal not to have any symptoms until the next relapse?

Thanks!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

danrb80
6 years ago

Well everyone is different with how MS affects them. I had loads of symproms for about 3-4 months after my first relapse. Now i have not felt MSie for a while reallt, yes I had an upset when I went on my bike in the heat but every day life I am fine. Take each day as it comes. 🙂

aardvark
6 years ago

Hi @igc2491

That sounds so formal. Do you mind if I call you igc?

As @danrb80 says, everyone’s experience with MS is different. Some people have significant symptoms right from the start, others have virtually nothing. There is no “how it usually plays out”. When I was first told that by my Neurologist, I didn’t completely get it – I kept thinking that there MUST be a pattern, there must be a typical prognosis. But after my experience with MS over the last few years, and reading about others’ experiences, I’m finally getting it.

You might go for years without any more symptoms. Equally, you might wake up tomorrow and find you’ve got completely different challenges ahead of you. That is the joy that is MS. That’s why everybody you speak to with experience of MS progression will tell you to not worry about it. Live for today. If you’ve been given a 90% DX, then be thankful for your symptom free life, make the most of it. Don’t waste your time worrying about what might be ahead. Because it might not be…

Mark 🙂

pottypete
6 years ago