bmowe1 22/02/15
Last reply 3 years ago
Newbie here RRMS diagnosed 1996

Hi everyone
I’m Bron and came across this forum. I’ve only read a couple of posts so far but I think it’s a great community.
I was diagnosed in 1997 with mild symptoms (my dad also has MS so he spotted what was going on). I’ve been fairly lucky so far with several severe debilitating relapses with almost full recovery between. I ‘did’ DMT for around 5 year before deciding to start a family. I tried to go back into it but the side effects were worse after giving birth.
I was diagnosed with a rare cancer (salivary gland) in Jan 2014 – it has been removed and I’ve had extremely harsh radiotherapy treatment. Of course, my MS has relapsed and I am struggling to regain my health and fitness for the first time.
I am really fearful of trying a different DMT because my neuro wrote that there could be theoretical evidence (though no clinical evidence) of a possible link between DMT and malignancies.
I wonder what other people might have heard about this??

One positive that my MS has given me ….. I was already used to living with an unpredictable illness and unknown future, which applies to every single human. I think my MS diagnosis and knowledge has really helped me to handle a cancer diagnosis …. Silver linings possibly.

Bron

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
3 years ago

Hi, @bmowe1 and welcome.

I’m surprised that your Neuro is not prescribing DMDs based on “theoretical” evidence. Is that from the NICE guidelines, I wonder?

It’s just that whenever I mention something different, I get told that I can’t have it because there’s only anecdotal evidence!

It’s almost a case of the Neuros want things both ways.