Last reply 3 months ago
Newbie here – diagnosed this week – hi!

Hi all,

32yo UK guy here; diagnosed on Tuesday with RRMS – am ultimately relieved as I finally know what’s going on, and it’s not the big C (which they thought it might be!)

Don’t get me wrong, I’m under no illusions that this is a life-changer and can be utterly debilitating down the line.

However I’m generally a very optimistic and positive person in life. I refuse to live on the “what if…” side of things. I’m not going to worry about what I may or may not be in 10, 20, 30 years etc – I absolutely will not let this ruin my life.

So why am I here exactly? Well, to meet people and to help. I make life about helping others, even if it’s just to spin the negatives into positives where possible, or to offer support anywhere I can.

Am also interested in learning how people have helped their families, as my wife is struggling a bit so far (even tho I’m not!)

Always happy to chat, looking forward to getting to know people!

Have an awesome day
Matt

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

sarah_irwin
3 months ago

Hi Matt,
I can totally relate to the relief you get upon diagnosis. For me it was relief that I wasnt imagining things and also relief I didnt have a brain tumour. 😮
As with any medical issue its always worse for family and friends as they cant control or fully undrrstand whats going on. I am sure your wife will start to worry less when she sees how you are handling it. Ive found Shift very supportive if Ive had any worries and the posts are very useful and sometimes very amusing.
Take care
Sarah

matt_baller
3 months ago

Thanks Sarah – and nice to meet you! Ditto on the tumour relief – I’ve had fairly focused pains in the rear right of my head on and off for years, but my right eye is weak so I kinda hoped it was that.

So yeah, it’s all good – I wanted an incentive to get fit after all…!