Last reply 11 months ago
Newbie here

Hi all, just registered so I’m new here! Would love to talk to people in a similar situation to me as so far I haven’t really met anyone!
First relapse early 2015.
Second relapse early 2017 + diagnosis RRMS.
I struggle with fatigue and brain fog a lot.
Working full time is sometimes really hard as I seem to struggle with getting out of bed, working non-stop a lot more than my peers.
I already have type 1 diabetes so this second diagnosis knocked me a bit.
I only met with my MS nurse in December as after diagnosis I got ‘lost in the system’. Still totally undecided about meds.
Would love to hear from you all 🙂
Amy x

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stefski
11 months ago

Hi and welcome!
I hope you find this site helpful. I used it a lot when I got diagnosed in 2012 – it’s good to feel you’re not on your own. Xxx

amyb
11 months ago

Thanks stefski, that’s exactly it. I don’t really know anyone else in my position and that sometimes gets me down. ‘Why me’ etc etc! :p x

spangle
11 months ago

Hi @amyb,

I new to this site as well, and fairly new to the world of MS (diagnosed with relapsing/remitting in July last year).
I found full time work to be a real struggle due to fatigue and as you say brain fog. It’s still difficult but I spoke to my employer and they agreed that I could work a short day in the middle of the week which had helped a lot. I do a bit extra on the other 4 days so only reduced my hours by 1per week. Maybe you could try the same?
As for meds I’ve only tried Copaxone, it has the least side effects. Had a bad reaction though and it’s given me arthritis (hopefully that will clear up though). I’m waiting to discuss my next options..
I did find that starting on a DMT was a great help though. My symptoms started to improve so looking forward to starting on the next one.

stefski
11 months ago