Last reply 2 months ago
My symptoms could be my back

Hello, I’m brand new to this. Anyway I’m a 31 year old male. I was diagnosed with ms about 7 months ago. Relapsing remitting. Anyway my symptoms are dizziness, balance, shaky legs, and I can’t stand on my feet for long periods of time or walk longer than about 5-6 city blocks. Now, on top of ms I also have 3 bulged discs in my spine at the L3,4 and 5 area with the L3 disc pressing on my sciatic nerve root. Does anyone have any or all of these symptoms? I’m trying to decipher what’s ms and or what is my back. Thanks in advance

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

ron_s_perrin
2 months ago

Also I’m on a 2 month waiting list and I’m too anxious to get any advice. My gp and my mother both think I need a spinal fusion.

grandma
2 months ago

@ron_s _perrin Hi and welcome. Not a medical expert but your back problems are unlikely to be connected to your ms. After all ms is like a ‘furred up’ kettle that is your brain. The myelin sheaths are damaged and that’s why you’ve got the symptoms you have. Are you on any treatment? It must be a pain in the butt dealing with both at the same time. Have you got an ms nurse? There are drugs that can help alleviate a lot of your symptoms, I.e. Dizziness, balance, shaky legs, all very common with ms but all can be helped to some extent so see your ms nurse if your gp isn’t really helping. That’s also quite common so you are not alone. If you can walk that far you are a lucky man, it could be that a walker/stick might be of use if you know you going further than the corner shop for a pint of milk. I don’t really walk any more but can still manage around the supermarket by holding and leaning on the wheeled trolley. Let’s deal with one thing at a time, small steps mate🥊😜

edmontonalberta
2 months ago

@ron_s_perrin

So close yet so far; if I could afford the gas I would drive over for a beer… 😉