Last reply 1 month ago
My journey with ms

I would like to tell my journey. 2010 my husband was an over the road trucker driver. I was a cosmetology instructor walking 4 miles a day. 4 kids living at home, depending on me. One morning started as usual I woke up at 5, took a shower, as I was doing my makeup, I noticed something was off, my vision in one eye. I finished getting ready for work, woke my kids up for school, started my 20 minute drive to work only seeing out of 1 eye. I called my husband who was 3000 miles away, like he could help. I was crying telling him I was blind in one eye. He said get to the doctor, I told him after work. At the time I couldn’t miss any time at work, if I did Bill’s couldn’t get paid. I went in my bestfriend and supervisor said Darren called get to the doctor, I said at lunch. At lunch I went to my doctor, he was no help, he said go to an optometrist. Later that day I went to the optometrist. Who thought it was a torn retina., he sent me to an eye surgeon. I sat there alone scared, both eyes dilated, great now I couldn’t see out of either eye. After the exam the doctor said we need to do an mri. I said why, response you either have ms or a brain tumor. I said I dont like those choices can I have another? After the mri he said you have ms. Now for 6 years I showed symptoms, regular doctors explained away. Now things made sense. I was still terrified and alone. I couldn’t explain the unknown to my kids, I would cry but only in the car or shower, I couldn’t let anybody know how scared I was. I would go to work. On lunch breaks for tests. When my 1st neurologist did the spinal tap, called me and told me I had to go in. On my lunch I went to see her. After she confirmed the ms, everything she said after was a fog. I went to my car and cried. I called my husband who was across the country, dried my tears and went back to work. Again I was alone, I didn’t understand ms. I didnt know my future. My employer was wonderful they did everything