dlg57 21/11/17
Last reply 4 months ago
MS hug?

I am relatively new to this. Diagnosed 2 months ago after a ridiculous amount of tests. Doc is trying to find a med that I can tolerate that works. Avonex was awful, so Thats out. Big question I have is about the “hug” I’ve read about. My torso seems to be my big problem area. Lots of painful spasms, and a feeling of tightness almost 24/7. Sound familiar?

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

limewillow
5 months ago

Ok….MS Hug…..I get these about 4 times a year. My suggestion is, breathe through it. Relax….. the worst thing you want is to start freaking out. Remember….it will pass.

dlg57
5 months ago

Unfortunately, I get them about 4 times a DAY. And they have not gone away in over a year, but have gotten more intense and painful. I don’t freak out now that I know what they are. Had my gall bladder checked twice because doctors thought I was having a gall bladder attack. 🙁 I read a lot about remission and replapse, but my symptoms have never been in remission since they started. My doctor hasn’t said what “kind” of MS I have yet.

Anonymous
5 months ago

Hi @fig57 ive only had hug once, it was a new symptom so classed as relapse & I was put on steroids, but the 2 weeks before was terrible, constant, pain. Sounds good advice from @limewillow – have you discussed this with your MS nurse. avonex is a ‘disease modifying’ drug used to slow the progression of MS & not a painkiller

All the best,
Craig

dekkor
5 months ago

@dlg57, I hope you are able to find some relief from this.

I was recently diagnosed and have been thinking back to past symptoms that might have been MS related. Over the last few years, I would experience an intense chest pain that would last for a few minutes at a time. As @limewillow suggested, all I could ever do was breathe through it and it would eventually dissipate.