bensdad 07/12/17
Last reply 6 months ago
Meds or Diet…Help

Hi All, I am new to this. My son ben 21 has just been diagnosed 1/12/2017. We are looking at diet v meds, I have been doing a lot of research and there seems to be a lot of people talking about diet and not taking meds. I realise diet is hard work and a big commitment. We are weary of meds because of side effects and how they seem to lower your immune system. I realise there is a balance, but he would rather try a change of diet vitamin D and a host of other supplements, probiotic, as well as good food. We have arranged a allergy test as well as a vitamin D and vitamin B testing to see if he has enough. I am also looking into leaky gut. I would love to know you thoughts and how long people have been battling this disease and what you have tried? Thanks for your help.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

Anonymous
7 months ago

Hi @bensdad – I’m sure people have taken a more holistic approach to managing their MS. My only suggestion would be to chat with your neurologist, GP & MS nurse before making a decision… the are many different meds that can be taken to slow the progression of MS (disease modifying drugs) there are pro’s & con’s to each type… I’m not really up on the dietry side of things but I’ve heard the Paleo Diet mentioned positively (I can’t vouch either way!!!)

All the best,
Craig

ginette_robles
7 months ago

Hi @bensdad,