Last reply 2 months ago
Lemtrada has made me worse.

Hi,

I’m new to shift ms and just wanted to share my experience after completing my course of Lemtrada. As Lemtrada is the leukaemia chemotherapy drug, it was quite scary to think I was putting Chemotherapy into my body to destroy the T and B cells that are responsible for giving MS. After about 2 weeks from the first 5 day course I had a relapse. I had not had a relapse for years and found this drug counter productive. I spoke to my Neuro and said this drug that is supposed to reduce relapses by up to 80% but had clearly failed. He advised that I need to complete course in 1 year. Well 1 year later and I have completed the course and feel like I am relapsing again! I am struggling to get around again. I have tried Tecfidera and had a negative reaction. I’ve tried Tysabri and had negative reaction and now this chemo drug. As I look back over the 22 years with this condition, I believe I would have have better off not taking any of them and would probably be more mobile than I am now. However the only medicating product that I have found that gives me back a life and a 70% improvement in mobility for a few hours is Alcohol. I have 2 bottles of beer ever few weeks and the result is miraculous. I would be interested to know other people’s experiences with these dreadful drugs.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
3 months ago

Hi @russ9141 and welcome.

I’m sorry that you feel that you have had bad experiences with the Disease Modifying Therapies (DMTs) you have had to date.

Looking specifically at your Lemtrada experience, I would suggest that the Lemtrada was not directly responsible for your relapse within two weeks of the first round of infusions. This probably started prior to the infusions, possibly by the “Tysabri rebound” or the stress of starting this new treatment.