wildthing 14/01/15
Last reply 3 years ago
Leaving work :(

I’m approaching the point where I won’t be able to work like I am now and I’m wondering about my options… (I’m a teacher)
I’m struggling with the physical nature of teaching (v supportive school) and wonder if they ‘have to’ offer me something else?
When I do have to stop will I get a ‘package’ (money?)
Could someone point me in the direction of a simple description of what happens next?
I’m trying to get hold of my union rep & occ health but it’s taking ages…
Thanks in advance…

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
3 years ago

@wildthing , your union will be best placed to let you know what options are available.

The Equalities Act 2010 just stipulates that employers should make reasonable adjustments to allow you to continue working, but we all know that you cannot physically do some jobs when MS takes hold.

If the union continues to be difficult to contact, consider the Citizen’s Advice Bureau.

Also consider the Access to Work scheme (https://www.gov.uk/access-to-work/overview) if this would finance an option which would allow you to continue.

wildthing
3 years ago

Thank you- yes of course the CAB! I’ve contacted access to work & work are moking adjustments (wheelchair!) which helps a lot.
I feel like I have maybe a year left in me then part time or change job (although I feel very de-skilled from teaching for a decade!)
Thanks again.

cameron
3 years ago