flick 12/02/17
Last reply 1 year ago
Is this a relapse ???

This is my first time posting, so forgive if I rattle on. I was diagnosed December 2015 and it came quite unexpected I’m now 48. I was told that I’d probably had RRMS for 10 years. I am not on any medication and my ms nurse has told me that existing numbness can be heightened at times. But in the last few days I have experienced new symptoms of severe numbness in my bottom and …. front area ! Which are having a knock on effect as I can’t tell when I need the toilet. I’m not sure if this a new relapse which would be my first since diagnosis, I just don’t know how to tell the difference. Also has anyone else experienced numbness in this area.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

aliga
1 year ago

Hi @flick. I was diagnosed a few months after you. I’ve not experienced the symptoms that you’re having just now, but I think you should contact your Ms nurse for advice. My neuro consultant defines a relapse as ‘a new/flare up symptom which lasts for more than 24 hours’. I had a relapse in Dec and was put on steroids – they sorted the issue quite quickly thankfully. I hope you get sorted too & that it doesn’t last long. X

heids
1 year ago

@flick,
Yes, I did and it was awful! I was diagnosed nearly a year ago now. I had tingling, burning sensations that started in my feet and rapidly travelled up to just under my rib cage and the ‘Ms hug’. The hug was tight, like wearing a corset only without the benefits but the worst feeling was the numbness around the ‘bottom area-front and back’ which is what led me back to the Drs (I’d had strange sensations 5 years earlier which was put down to peripheral nerve damage). My Dr suggested that I tried Gabapentin and although it didn’t take away all of my sensations thankfully the first ones it seemed to deal with was the ‘bottom’ ones-took a few days but it did work.