t-luv 28/11/17
Last reply 4 months ago
Introducing myself

Hiya, I’m a newbie here so thought I’d introduce myself. I’m a 45 year old woman who has recently been diagnosed…actually not officially but without doubt!
6 years ago, I woke up with pins and needles in my left arm and assumed I’d slept on it and it would wear off soon. It never has. Over the next few days the pins and needles spread to my whole body and I couldn’t stand up. Initially docs thought I’d had a stroke, but tests proved otherwise. As gradually it had appeared, it then started to disappear with the exception of my left arm, which I have learned to live with. I had many tests and 2 MRIs but never got to the bottom of it.
One thing that became clear though – I appeared to have super powers! Never caught the sickness bugs or colds that were doing the rounds. The only discomfort I ever felt over the next few years was occasionally I’d get a real tightness around my body. Docs didn’t know what it was so I just called it “my corset” and wait for it to pass.
I never suspected MS until I was watching Hollyoaks and Nancy presented with similar symptoms. I googled it and still thought “Well it can’t be that or it would’ve shown up on my MRI scans” ! So I carried on regardless.
Earlier this year I noticed a new thing. My blood felt fizzy. It was random, some days more times than others but every day. Then the pins and needles came back all down my right side.
Now I started to worry!
After about a month of fizzy blood, I suddenly realised it always happened when I looked down.
L’hermittes sign.
And that’s when the fog cleared!
Back to docs and it was like a light bulb had suddenly been switched on, so more tests more MRI scans, and now just really waiting for absolute confirmation.
In all honesty it’s a relief to finally be getting some answers, a bit disappointing that I’m not actually a super hero though!!
But also an explanation to my clumsiness/forgetfulness that I thought were part of me getting old!