Last reply 3 years ago
Fatigue and lack of appetite

I am fairly new to the MS world. I was diagnosed nearly a year ago but have been largely in denial until recently!

I don’t know about anyone else, I guess we are all different, but the fatigue seems to come over me in waves. I’ve just gone 6 weeks feeling really good (more tired than I used to be but able to function relatively normally), and then 3 or 4 days ago the fatigue hit me like a steam train – quite out of the blue. When this happens I find I have no appetite, and that is not like me! I also get forgetful, which is making work an absolute nightmare. I forgot a client’s name yesterday when making an introduction – my mind when completely and utterly blank. It was so embarrassing.

I’m pretty sure all of this is connected to the MS/fatigue, but I was just wondering if this is common with anyone else. Although I try and stay positive I get really down when I go through a spell like this.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

scotkiwi
6 years ago

Yup I get fatigue too. I still bike about but Somerset a 20min cycle takes me over an hour!
My legs give way fairly often too.
I never have any appetite and have to remember to eat!

scotkiwi
6 years ago

Somerset ?
That should be Sometimes!

ophelia
6 years ago

I can sympathise with the lack of appetite and have subsequently lost over a stone in weight (I won’t lie, i could have done to lose a few pounds!!) I have to remind myself to eat as I just don’t get hungry. I do have days where my appetite returns though, it’s swings and round abouts! x

abbie1982
6 years ago

Thanks for the replies. It’s nice to know I’m not alone with all these strange goings on, and I know exactly what you mean when you say it’s swings and roundabouts – the loss of appetite comes and goes seemingly with no known catalyst (as with all the other symptoms!)

danrb80
6 years ago