stefski 14/02/13
Last reply 5 years ago
Disclosure?

Hi,
I’m in the process of being made redundant and I’m a bit worried about disclosing my m.s on application forms for new jobs. My ms nurse is confident that the disability discrimination act should ensure there wouldn’t be discrimination and tells me I need to disclose that I have it. Just wondered if anyone has any advice or could tell me the implications of not disclosing? I’ve been working in my current job for 13 years and I’m really not looking forward to starting job search – I know it will be hard enough to get a new job!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

Anonymous
5 years ago

If you have to tell a future employer you have MS and want to mention it in a resume then put a positive spin on it.

stefski
5 years ago

Thanks, good advice. It was really whether or not you have to mention in first place. Maybe it’s just a personal decision but my nurse was v adamant I had to disclose it

edgarleroy
5 years ago

I wouldn’t unless it affects job performance or is obviously noticeable. Just gives them a reason to not hire you. I would not trust the disability discrimination act.

cameron
5 years ago

Why would you ‘have’ to disclose it on the application form? Plenty time to do it at the interview, I would have thought. Because it’s not as though you’ll be applying for anything that is obviously out of your sphere of competence – you’re going for jobs that you know you can do. I wouldn’t say anything until much further into the process. EdgarLeroy is right – DDA can’t be put to the test if you never get to the interview stage. Much easier for them just to dismiss your application and not bother with any of it. I’m a cynic, too.

dan-w
5 years ago

You are not legall required in the UK to disclose any disability.

http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/declaring-a-disability

Hope it helps.

xander
5 years ago