diegomontes16 21/03/17
Last reply 1 year ago
Copaxone help

Hey I’ve been on aubagio for 3 years and I felt like I was doing great on it but about 8 months ago till now I’ve been feeling like I’m declining I have a lot of bad days and balance issues I’m thinking of switching medication and hopefully that’ll help me go into remission of some sort but I just wanted to ask if anyone has any experience with copaxone and how is it? Thanks 🙂

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
1 year ago

@diegomontes16 , I have no personal experience of Copaxone, but it is another of the first level Disease Modifying Treatments (DMTs). It is low on side effects, but can cause injection site reactions, if disciplined rotation of injection sites is ignored.

However, if you feel that the Aubagio isn’t working for you, then an MRI scan should be requested to ascertain progression. It may be that you need to step up to a stronger DMT.

diegomontes16
1 year ago

Thanks!!

Aubagio and Copaxone both are 1.1 DMDs with 30% relapse reduction rate and Tecfidera for example has 50%. This is a great and comprehensive guide to DMDs: https://support.mstrust.org.uk/file/MSDecisionsWeb.pdf However, “stronger” does not mean “better”, there are higher risks involved with 1.2 and 2.0 DMDs. Seeing neuro and having another MRI is a great place to start.

jenny4hughes
1 year ago

I’m on copaxone and for me my experiences with it are pretty much positive. I get reactions at injection sites almost all the time regardless of how disciplined I am with rotating my injection sites,, and from what i’ve read online most people on the drug would report the same.