Last reply 3 weeks ago
Cooking question – meat thermometers

I am a keen cook and Mrs S loves a Sunday roast. I hate overcooked meat. To date I have only ever used a circular dial thermometer for meat. My concern is cooking joints of beef/pork/lamb more accurately.

I have been told that the digital probes you can stick in and leave in a roast, with the monitor outside the oven, are the way forward. £20 or so on Amazon but I am interested to hear from others who may use them.

Presently I weigh and then go on Hugh FW’s guides in his book, Meat. Generally reliable but I wanted to move from approximate the precise.

Thank you.

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

grandma
1 month ago

I don’t have a digital one but just a small knitting needle one that changes colour if the neat in the middle is the right termperature. Also use it for cakes, if it comes out sticky it’s not cooked?😍

mamawals
1 month ago

I use the digital type. It has a little wire that goes out of the oven to the digital part. I set it for whatever temperature I want and then it beeps when it reaches that temperature. Very convenient. I’ve used it for five or six years with no issues.

dominics
1 month ago

Thank you both.

@mamawals – is it a single probe? I never cook huge joints and wonder if that is the point of dual sensors.

@grandma – my brother, an excellent cook, tells me that the style like this (which I have but never use) is not very accurate. Which model do you use? As for cakes, I just stab a skewer in the fattest part to see if any sticks!

dvtrv
1 month ago

Apologies, seems I’ve stumbled across a cooking website. How peculiar

grandma
1 month ago

@dmtrv- on this site we try and help each other out with anything that helps mser keep going, it may be a meat thermometer or an exercise machine or a pill splinter et al. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it!

grandma
1 month ago