Last reply 8 months ago
Constant change of plans = anxiety

Hi Everyone,

I recently got diagnosed with RRMS and am going to start Lemtrada soon. I am young and at the moment my MS has put all of my ‘constants’ up in the air. My study (I’m a student), career options, where I will be living and the start date of my treatment all keep changing and so there is no certainty of what the immediate future looks like, let alone beginning to process what the future looks like in light of this diagnosis.

Does anyone therefore have any tips or first hand experiences of how they coped with all the uncertainty and the loss of control of decision being made for you? The anxiety is real and I feel like I’m a hamster on a hamster wheel using the little energy that I do have, to chase people regarding sorting out all the admin that comes with the above uncertainties. When actually, I need to process the diagnosis and focus on getting the treatment that I need.

Thanks, Louise!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
8 months ago

@studentandms , this is a tough time for you, as it shows the fragility of life. We all make plans, but nobody knows the future and anything can happen to anybody.

A recent diagnosis and a treatment plan of Lemtrada suggest that your medical team are on the ball.

You’re young, so your age is definitely on your side. Academic and career aspirations can still be accomplished, although MS has presently put a spanner in the works for you.

Yes, you do have to take control to make things happen. This is a useful lesson in life. But, once they have happened, your prognosis is good. You should enlist whatever assistance is available to allow you to complete your studies, whether this is extended deadlines or whatever.