letty 18/05/17
Last reply 1 year ago
Cognitive issues or paranoia?

Hi guys, I’m 25 and I’ve been diagnosed with RRMS for about five years. I’m a freelance writer and one of my biggest worries is that cognitive issues will eventually effect my ability to write. I had a bit of a panic this morning when I couldn’t think of the word ‘bricolage’ for about 2 minutes. I calmed down after I told myself that it’s not unusual for healthy people to forget words from time to time, and names of French art movements probably isn’t a fair test.

I was wondering if you guys have any tips on keeping normal forgetting straight from cognitive issues? And how do you guys deal with that constant fear of getting worse?

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

merfield
1 year ago

Probably slightly different for someone my age 77 but I’m learning Spanish as they say leaning a language is really good for stimulating the brain. I do it weekly via Skype with someone Spanish in Lanzarote. I also keep as up to date as poss with technology….iPad. I do sudoku, patience, and crosswords on the iPad (but as fast as I can.) I time myself. Probably best to have advice from someone your age. I’m pretty alert, so far…..Anyway, that’s what I do for what it’s worth but then I’m PPMS which is different. Good Luck @letty

brendan
1 year ago

Hi Letty, I’m 55 and it’s common for me to go to get a tool from my van, and when I get there I think “what do I want?” I forget things all the time, it’s frustrating but so what? I guess you just have to laugh at it. I’ve had ms for 27 years, just hope I don’t forget to wake up anytime soon! I don’t think you should worry about the future, it’s pretty much unknown for all of us. Control the controlables, my dear brother in law used to say, he was a 747 pilot for BA, he was a clear thinker. Don’t get bogged down by what you cannot control, enjoy every moment. Take care Letty.

potter