Last reply 5 days ago
Clinically Isolated Syndrome

Hello,

I am new to shift ms. I have been diagnosed with clinically isolated syndrome. I feel like I am in limbo land. I have has normal MRI’s for a year. I have several MS symptoms. MS hug, numbness right side, face, tongue, roof of mouth, L’Hermittes, weakness, severe fatigue, on and on. I hate this feeling of not having a legitimate diagnosis but severe symptoms to the point I can barely work. Any advice is much appreciated from anyone that has gone through this.

Thanks
Carmen

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
1 month ago

Hi @carmfisch99yahoo-com and welcome.

A diagnosis of Clinically Isolated Syndrome (CIS) is a frustrating one. You’ve potentially had one relapse, which doesn’t quite fit the “Mcdonald Criteria” (https://www.mstrust.org.uk/a-z/mcdonald-criteria) for formally diagnosing MS.

Your Neuro is therefore waiting to see what happens next. However, some proactive Neuros are now treating CIS with Disease Modifying Therapies (DMTs), to try and prevent progression to MS.

But, your one “relapse” has left some residual damage, hence your continuing symptoms.

Overall, treatment for MS consists of a DMT, to try and prevent further relapses/damage, and medications for symptom management. It is this second area that you need some guidance from your Neuro.

We have to manage our symptoms too. We can make our symptoms flare up by a variety of actions, e.g. becoming over-tired, eating something, getting stressed, etc. We need to identify and avoid these causal factors.

There’s some details on all of the MS symptoms here :-

https://www.mstrust.org.uk/understanding-ms/ms-symptoms-and-treatments/symptoms

This may give some suggestions to symptom management and treatment.

Thank you

houdini
1 month ago

Hi @carmfisch99yahoo-com