Last reply 5 months ago
Choice to make

Neurologist told me on my 46th birthday that my previous meds for my RRMS have not been working and that although my last MRI said only small new lesions that I had brain atrophy. Let me also tell you that apart from fatigue and occasional tingling I am otherwise symptom free. I work full time as a nurse and part time as a fire fighter. I wear full gear go into fires and help extricate victims in car accidents. Now he want to put me on Lemtrada or Ocrevus. I don’t know what to think or do. I don’t want to be sick when I’m not sick. I’m so confused and overwhelmed. Please someone give me a helping hand!

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

paulmorrison
5 months ago

Understand your concerns, and it is great that you are working full time and relatively symptom free. If your Neuro is offering lemtrada it is well worth considering to keep you where you are now.
Good luck with your decision and keep on keeping on.
Paul. X

californiadreamin
5 months ago

@firefrau26 How long ago was your last MRI? Its very difficult to measure atrophy over just a year accurately. You are trying to measure changes of less then 1% and your brain will fluctuate that much between morning and night and depending on factors like hydration. So while its surely possible there is some atrophy you cant rule out measurement error.

One thing I asked my wife to do with her MRI’s is make sure she schedules them all at the same time of day. Its also important to note that sometimes it will look like there is no atrophy when really there was some it was just when you measured it went the opposite way.