Last reply 4 weeks ago
Benefits advice after diagnosis?

Dear good people on Shift MS

I was hoping you could me. I am enquiring about potential welfare benefits advice after being diagnosed with R/R MS in August.

I currently work as an admin staff in an office, having recently reduced my hours due to my diagnosis. Although my employer is relatively understanding I am struggling day-to-day (mainly with debilitating fatigue, queasiness, brain fog etc). My mobility is fine and to other people I probably seem okay but i’m finding things harder and harder.

I am soon to start Lemtrada treatment in hospital and i’m conscious that this will involve lots more time off work (I’ve already had four months off earlier this year with my last relapse) and subsequent regular hospital visits.

As such I would like to know if I was to hand in my notice, due to MS health related reasons, would I be able to claim/entitled to any benefits? If so which ones – ESA, say?

My concern is that I look vaguely ‘healthy’, don’t have any real problems walking etc and to someone unfamiliar with the condition there doesn’t look like there’s anything wrong with me. I’m scared it’s just going to look like i quit my job just for the sake of it. Sadly that’s not the case and with the upcoming treatment I fear working is only going to get increasingly difficult/near impossible.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I’m finding the whole damn’ thing genuinely confusing.

Many thanks

James

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

stumbler
4 weeks ago

Hi @jamars and welcome.

I wouldn’t even consider any of this, until you’ve had your Lemtrada treatment.

You supplied no details of when you were diagnosed or your age, so it’s difficult to guess what your post-Lemtrada prognosis might be. Some people feel that they get their life back after this treatment.

grandma
4 weeks ago