Last reply 1 year ago
avonex

Hello

Just wondering who’s on ‘Avonex’ treatment? I haven’t start yet but my neuro doctor and I agreed that I’ll start with the base line before I can change to other advanced treatment. (I’m still learning about all this ‘MS’ stuff)

But hey, I have received a good news. On Wednesday I’ve been told I can have a MRI but it is be with a very strict protocol. I’m pleased about this.

I’ve noticed I’m more exhausted and tired! I can sleep for 10 hours but I’m still tired – are anyone experiencing the same??

Thanks
Moon

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

I almost chose to take avonex but instead I chose to go with rebif, I just started last weekend but so far so good 🙂 stings with medicine is going in but that’s it 🙂 and yes I’m always very tired.. it takes a tole on your body.. rest as much as you need to 🙂

stumbler
1 year ago

Hi @missmoona , there’s so much knowledge about MS that needs to be collected when you start this journey. There’s a good source of information from the MS Trust here:-

https://support.mstrust.org.uk/shop

Try the Newly diagnosed section for an introduction.

Avonex is considered to be one of the first line treatments. Then, if your MS gets worse, a stronger medication can be considered. This conservative approach is being replaced with a more proactive “hit it hard, hit it fast” philosophy, to try and prevent accumulating further damage. And, it seems that your Neuro is unfortunately still in the former camp.

Can I also question the “MRI with a very strict protocol”? I would assume that you’ve already had an MRI prior to diagnosis, so this latest scan would be to monitor progression. The only questions on MRIs is whether it should be brain and spine. And whether a contrast medium is used to identify ongoing MS activity.

We have a lot of knowledge here on the forum, so feel free to pose any questions you have.