Last reply 7 hours ago
Alcohol and MS – your thoughts

Hi everyone,
I am hoping you can help me out. I am an MSer and a journalist who interviews for Shift.ms and also writes for the BartsMS blog (MSexism, Why our Words and Stories Matter etc). I am currently writing a piece for the Barts blog on alcohol and MS – and would love to get some feedback.
Some questions: How much do you drink? Does it make your symptoms worse? Does alcohol help you cope with the stress of having MS? Have you changed your drinking since diagnosis? Anyone gone teetotal?
Any feedback would be much appreciated.
If you write a reply – I will not quote you unless I received your explicit permission.
Thanks,
Rachel

Add categories

Browse categories and add by clicking on them

You can remove current categories below by clicking the ‘x’.

grandma
3 weeks ago

I had to stop drinking wine,which was my tipple, not huge amounts of. The ex other half and I used to share a bottle a couple of times a week. I used to like every kind,but my body will now only let me drink Rose, only 1 glass of an evening so a bottle (4 glasses) lasts me a week, I usually have a glass every other day,I.e. Sat, Mon, Wed, Fri., Please use my sorbiquet any time it’s of use to you. I’m 62 and have the east for25 years, 23 on Avonex, 6 months on Tecfidera. Had rrms for 23 yrs and they think (but aren’t sure) that .I now have spms😍

longboat
3 weeks ago

Kind thanks for letting me know. Like you, I have cut back as drinking just doesn’t agree with my MS. Heard some MSers say Tecfidera and alcohol leads to more flushing- but that is not the case with me.

bullman
3 weeks ago

Hi @longboat . I used to be a JD +coke drinker. I stopped. 2 years ago as I felt it affected my already dodgy walking. Walking was so bad, I fell over going into a pub. I still got served though. 😀

mermaidia11
3 weeks ago

Are you lookin for intel from newly diagnosed peeps under 40? As that’s what shift likes to focus on after all